Archinect
anchor

IDP Entry Points

AUTOMAILER DAEMON DOOD

"NCARB conditions specify that no training units may be earned prior to satisfactory completion of:

a) ...
b) the third year of a four year pre-professional degree program in architecture accepted for direct entry to an NAAB or CACb accredited professional degree program
c) ... "

I graduated from a regular, 4 year college, majoring in architecture. I seem to be covered by "b". But I need to be sure. Calling the NCARB gets me nowhere, no one ever calls back. Clarification appreciated.

Sep 14, 05 2:25 pm
stephanie
list of accredited programs
Sep 14, 05 3:25 pm  · 
 · 
atsama

ADD - I am having the same problem....have you gotten any other responses? i actually finished my masters, but have year + of experience in between my arch. undergrad major and my masters and i want to count those....but cant get a straight answer....am still researching....if you find out anything, can you let me know?

Sep 14, 05 4:02 pm  · 
 · 
Bloopox

Usually if the 4-year program is considered a "4" component of a "4+2" scenario then NCARB will approve your experience earned after your 3rd year of that program.
It doesn't necessarily have to be a program that has its own M.Arch program. If students from your school have in the past been admitted with advanced standing (directly into 2nd year) of 3 or 3.5 year M.Arch programs elsewhere then you should be able to get approval for that experience.

There's no real "final" way to find out for sure what NCARB will and won't count except to send in this experience in an employment report and see if they approve it. (If they don't, you'll get a letter stating that this is considered "early professional experience" and won't be granted IDP credit.)

I attended a 4-year bachelor program with a major in architecture and did receive credit for my IDP units earned after my 3rd year of that program.