Archinect
anchor

How Important is trigonometry + calculus ?

DDWLDLF

The reason I ask... I am studying and working towards my AAS in architectural technology at a local community college. One of the CC's don't require trig and calc. Only requires three math credits and is satisfied by as little as MAT102 or as far as MAT187. Another Comm College here requires MAT151 & MAT187. So I'd have to take everything leading up to trig. That's 3 more math classes. Is it worth it? Or am I safe going to the other CC that will let me take the less complex math credits? Incase anyone's wondering, I'm talking about Phoenix college and Scottsdale community college. PC requires more math and SCC will let me graduate by merely finishing MAT102 I'm not great at math. In fact, it's a bit of a struggle for me, but I do ok when I really apply myself. It is clear that PC has a more difficult program. But my question to the experienced members here... How important is it that I take these harder classes for an AAS? When I go for a Bach, there's no way around trig and calc, but for now, should I go the harder route? Or deal with those when I absolutely have to... B.arch? Thanks.

Oct 16, 11 5:31 pm

i use trig functions on a (fairly) regular basis. calculus, not so much. you'll get all you really *need* in the statics/structures courses in school, but it's HUGELY helpful to already have a facility with the basic concepts. 

Oct 16, 11 7:58 pm  · 
 · 
Beepbeep

You will need math through college algebra + trigonometry  and at least one semester in physics for architecture taking calculus would not hurt but you will only use a really small part of it in structures mostly just trig. at least do math through trig and a college physics is my advise 

Oct 16, 11 9:38 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

i assume that trig and algebra are easier at the cc level, if you have to take it anyway than take it there.

trig is useful in structures, no reason for calculus in my experience

Oct 16, 11 10:07 pm  ·