Archinect
anchor

My Dumb PDF question

MysteryMan

This is one area that I have neglected in the past few years w/ regard to AutoCAD:
What methods can you use to write an ACAD file that cannot be edited, but can be pulled up in ACAD?

I have stayed on the periphery of PDFs, so I'm no expert, but not sure if you can pull these up in ACAD.

I can toggle the DWG file to be a 'Read-Only' file, but that is easily by-passed.

I know how to write a DWF file & send it, but it won't get pulled up in ACAD.

What other solutions d owe have, ya Einsteins?

Aug 12, 05 11:12 am
manamana

why do you want it to be pulled up in autocad if you don't want it edited?

it sounds like a PDF, opened in acrobat is what you want. Is there still anyone on the planet that doesn't have the ability to read a PDF?

Aug 12, 05 11:42 am  · 
 · 
MysteryMan

If it was me, we wouldn't even be to this point...but, my partner likes to piss off clients, so he wants to 'technically' send a non-editable DWG file. he's got it in his head that a PDF is something that does this. Well, it does, just not in ACAD.

I dunno, it's one of those days where I think it will culminate in me telling him to Buzz Off...again.

Thanks, if anyone else has any ideas abt Read-Only DWGs, PDFs, or just a new way to disparage that Pipe Smoker, I'm all ears.

Aug 12, 05 11:48 am  · 
 · 
MysteryMan

Seems that PDFs have supplanted AutoDesk's Volo, or Whip! (Ka-PRAACKK!). Why is that? Volo is (or was) free, plus you can write via Volo, or Whip! (Ka-PRAACKK!)

Aug 12, 05 12:07 pm  · 
 · 
A Center for Ants?

DWF's i think are read only, aren't they? viewable in autocad.

Aug 12, 05 12:20 pm  · 
 · 
A Center for Ants?

oops. i didn't read that last part... what is happening when you try to open the dwf?

Aug 12, 05 12:20 pm  · 
 · 
domestic