Archinect
anchor

Do you think architects think like this...?

drawmore.flounces

I read some post on another sight that went like this -- "architects always seem to view themselves as artists, ironically while simultaneously holding low regard for art & artists."

Is this true? I am an artist. My brother is an architect. 

Sep 30, 11 5:26 pm
drums please, Fab?

no and no.  i'm not an artist, i'm an architect

what's your bro think about'cha?

Sep 30, 11 6:24 pm  · 
 · 
junior

artistic qualities + pragmatic/functional results = architecture

Sep 30, 11 6:35 pm  · 
 · 
drums please, Fab?

how do you divide pragmatic by function?!?

Sep 30, 11 6:37 pm  · 
 · 
junior

haha it wasnt initially meant to be an equation. i meant it to read as pragmatic [and] function, i guess another plus would have sufficed.

Sep 30, 11 6:40 pm  · 
 · 

"Architects are just artists that want to make their mothers happy." - Dave Hickey (MacArthur Genius, like Jeanne Gang)

If it matters, my husband is an artist, I'm an architect, and we both hold talented people in high regard whether they practice art or architecture or both or neither.

Sep 30, 11 6:46 pm  · 
 · 
randy1

"architecture is the mother of all arts"....."the only art form you can physically walk through and peep into the history, culture, civilization,...etc....."

Sep 30, 11 8:00 pm  · 
 · 

"Architecture is the art of how to waste space."
-- Philip Johnson

Oct 2, 11 11:06 pm  · 
 · 

"Only a very small part of architecture belongs to art: the tomb and the monument. Everything else that fulfils a function is to be excluded from the domain of art."
-- Adolf Loos 

Oct 2, 11 11:06 pm  · 
 · 
kylec14

I am a High School student who wants to become an Architect. I feel that Architects are Artists. Art is a very general idea. Many things can be considered art. It all depends on the person viewing it. While Architecture involves Science and Technology. One of the crucial aspcts of Architecture is design. Design=Art.