Archinect
anchor

Snazzy professional portfolio...

velo

From my understanding, once you start work many interviewers expect to see more professional pages in your portfolio. I've been working for a couple years, have some projects under my belt to showcase. However most of them aren't cutting edge design, due to constraints of the project. My question is, any ideas to jazz up your professional portfolio when it is clear the designs are very practical and straightforward? I don't want to cling to old academic projects in my portoflio too much. I wonder if employers expect the creative aspects within a portfolio to taper off? Any suggestions on what other elements I can put in my portfolio to reintroduce a degree of my own creativity. I know many employers, if they see too much academic work, they're cautioned that you may be too wet behind the ears.

Jul 9, 05 5:17 pm
Aluminate

Most people stop including student work by the time they have about 2 years of experience post graduation. Some people decide to keep their thesis project, or an award-winning project, or something about which they can speak more theoretically.
Often you'll find that after you have a few years of experience the interviews will start being more about your role in the projects, whether you usually took projects from start to finish or had a more specialized role, whether you seem to be able to talk about the construction of the building... so it's usually helpful to have photos of built work, at least one half-size CD set, and anything else you've worked on - from schematic sketches to feasibility studies. If you have a range of work that takes one or two projects from start to finish this is ideal.
Employers don't necessarily expect your creativity to "taper off" - but they'll expect to see how you applied your design skills to practical issues. Examples of design in the sense of problem-solving - such as unique details, even space planning studies will usually be welcomed.