Archinect
anchor

lost in translation

dragonfly

so, here is my quandry the long of the short of it at least. i could really use some real help here, advice, pointers, you name it--basically new graduate with beyond entry level experience trying to land a good job. help! (please).....the long version follows:

i recently went back to school for a A.A. certificate in interior design. i graduated a couple weeks ago(but finished my program in the fall)i have a substantial background in working within different areas of retail doing visual merchandising, space planning, fixture mapping, prototyping, some fixture/furniture design, graphic design and a ton more. i went back to school because, i have always wanted to design, it is where my passion lies and lets be honest here, retail can only take you so far. i mean, i did space plans when i was in elementary school of what i wanted my room remodel to look like. (hehe, true though)

i want to make a cross-over into a design or architectural firm. i have a lot of talent. i know auto-cad, photoshop, illustrator(basics), quark. while in school, i focused my work around green design, something the school had very little resources for, which was fine with me, i am a self-starter.

i first interviewed with a few firms, then i wanted to try my luck with retailers, because i felt that my specialty for so long was within retail, why not be in store design to further accentuate my knowledge? i have been disappointed with the positions that i have been offered, not enough creativity, too many positions that have no real room for growth potential or advancement. i dont just want to take something because it is something, i want to try to find the right fit for both me and the company. i am a loyal hardworking employee, who doesnt like to shift jobs every 6 months. but i guess that is a question i am posing to all of you--is that something i should get used to? job hopping?