Archinect
anchor

st.

and just like no one cares what you made on your SAT, it's your knowledge of AP Calculus that impresses the client every day, right?

Jun 30, 05 5:00 pm  · 
 · 
RankStranger

db, I understand where you are coming from - that IDP blows, just make the test harder to weed out the losers.
I agree IDP blows, you don't NEED to do it though. Wisconsin, for instance does not require it. Get licensed in WI, then after a while you can get licensed anywhere through reciprocity in a few years after that. I still think you need signatures from employers though. And if you think some employer will not sign the thing, you'd be supprised.
BUT, this was my point to begin with, I have 7 years of experience and only now do I feel comfortable with my knowledge level to become licensed. Not to take the test, but enough so that I would be comfortable and confident in hiring myself for professional services. I would not be confident hiring a 25 year old licensed architect to design my building. If there are any. That's just me though.

Jun 30, 05 5:04 pm  · 
 · 
db

"the group responsible for teaching interns and students about making real buildings is not the AIA, nor the universities (although systems and construction should be taught, schools should primarily teach design skills, or how to think and solve problems), but the practicing architects" -- cynic

so I must ask why do we have such a thing as a "professional" degree? there is a good amount of accreditation that goes into such programs and they should not be dismissed from this discussion as cynic has suggested.

IF we believe that accredited schools of archtecture are involved in training future architects then shouldn't we actually allow and expect them to do so?

you suggest that "real" training happens only after graduation, but to put "real" training on the profession once students graduate seems inauthentic and wrong if schools are offering a "professional" degree.