Archinect
anchor

Architecture & Humanity

jj2786

To what extent do you feel Architects should offer their support in the event of a Humanitarian Crisis, and how? And, are we doing enough at present?
I'm an MA student carrying out research on the importance of design during and after any form of Humanitarian crisis. I'm trying to understand what level of intervention both the general public and design professionals feel is necessary i.e. desktop support via the web (i.e. sharing floor plans), or heading out to disaster zones.... on the front line, so to speak.

Comments much appreciated

Sep 16, 11 7:50 am
ka em

ANY form of humanitarian crisis?

I would suggest that you narrow down your scope ('humanitarian crisis' is a big field), perhaps to post war reconstruction, post disaster relief... or even slum clearing and informal settlement.

Sep 17, 11 1:49 am  · 
 · 
ff33º

I am often struck by the fact that we have 8 billion people on the planet with mass infrastructural and housing deficits in many countries, yet...Architects universally struggle to find work.   I think the problem is summarized by the lack of organizational energy around the politics and economics of providing for people's urban needs.  The NGO model doesn't seem as successful as it should be either.

Sep 19, 11 10:50 am  · 
 · 

Indigenous architecture, evolved over millennia to satisfy local conditions of environment, building materials, culture and sustainability has been discarded in favor of largely counterproductive exercises in technology and ego.  Thus, architects as we know them are essentially obsolete. The "need" for a technological /  egotistical designed environment is an illusion.

The architect of the future will design and construct with locally available materials (including refuse) for sustainability, low energy use and with agriculturally productive site management as a primary purpose.

Sep 19, 11 1:06 pm  · 
 · 
toasteroven