Archinect
anchor

Revit / parametric modelling: the future of practice?

bRink

I am currently taking a class in Autodesk Revit, taught by an architect who works as autodesk and is helping to develop new features for the software...

Just started the class, and this is my first time working with parametric modelling, but I wonder: Could this stuff have the potential to make autocad obsolete somewhere down the road?

I mean, here you are actually modelling the entire building, its object oriented, details get worked out for you (with your own control over heirarchies for structure etc.), and its like combing a drafting a modelling software into one package... Its working with real building components, sections are almost point and click...

While it might not be as powerful as other 3D software for concept design... It makes construction documents a snap...

Is this the future of drafting? Are offices moving towards parametric modelling like Revit?

Jun 17, 05 1:27 pm
trace™

I know of a few that have, at least for a project or two, but I also know of one that it didn't work out well.

The idea is great, and it will happen sometime, but not very soon.

Jun 18, 05 6:24 pm  · 
 · 
fulcrum

(didn't we have a similar thread before?)
Revit works well, if you know what you are doing. It will cause you a lot of troubles, if you use it for renovation works or like fast track construction where there will be a lot of changes along way. Revit is very, I mean VERY smart program that requires a lot of planning ahead, like floor to floor heights, materials, wall types, etc. Once I tried to move base floor height for multi-story building after bidding set stage, and oh man, it was hell.

Jun 18, 05 11:15 pm  · 
 · 
bRink

fulcrum: