Archinect
anchor

Advice for elderly person considering architecture

carbuncle juncle

I'm 32, female, and considering architecture. I know many MArch programs are willing to take someone with no previous experience, but I wonder if I'm too old for this.

I have experience in the visual arts--studio and theory.
I have a Master's degree in a useless Humanities field from Stanford.

Any advice?

May 12, 05 6:38 pm
evilplatypus

A client of ours was very impressed with the process so after selling his business he enrolled at IIT in Chicago. He's 45.

May 12, 05 6:44 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

are you kidding, carbuncle??? 32 is by not means too old to study architecture.

Your visual arts + stanford humanities degree will surely get you into a good and meaningul m.arch I program no???

architects become famous only after 50, so you will have to work lesser years before you make it big :)

May 12, 05 6:46 pm  · 
 · 
polipop

it's gonna be tough, but... why not? if you're motivated and you feel like doing it, sure you'll be able to make it.

who is too old for what?

good luck !

May 12, 05 6:46 pm  · 
 · 
dia

I have no experience with the American System in terms of the specifics of entry into a program, however, you are not too old for architecture. In fact, I think you'll find that you wont be the oldest person in your classes. If you are of the opinion that you are destined to do architecture, then you should'nt let any doubts about your age stop you.

When I was still studying [3 years ago] one of my fellow students was a 42 year old former used car salesman [amongst other things]. He was good, because in architecture [and specifically architectural education], its all about attitude.

May 12, 05 6:47 pm  · 
 · 
heterarch

yeah, actually, i envy you. i should have worked as a wookie stunt double till i was at least 30. then there would only be 20 years of bottom (technically top) of the totem pole bs to deal with. :)

GO FOR IT!

May 12, 05 6:50 pm  · 
 ·