Archinect
anchor

Looking for work in Australia

Jo

I am an architect (B.Arch) with four years of work experience and would like to work in Australia. I think there is some very interesting work happening there on a small as well as a large scale and would like to be a part of it. I would like to know which is the best city for us architects to work and live in and tips on how to job-hunt in Australia. Are there any websites that will help me out in this regard? Thanks.

Apr 20, 05 1:38 am
imagebytekid

Try Melbourne...great food, good people and some great architecture.
However you may find us rather provincial...but hey it's nice to know
people.
Interesting team designed this:
www.federationsquare.com.au/
http://www.federationsquare.com.au/index.cfm?pageID=56

for jobs:
www.seek.com.au
http://www.mycareer.com.au/
http://www.careerone.com.au/

you'll find agencies linked from jobs...although they prefer you to be in the country to get a foot in.

ibk

Apr 20, 05 3:09 am  · 
 · 
dia

Melbourne is hands down the best city to work and live in. Check out the RAIA for general info, but the website also has an attached jobs section. There is also information by state, as well as a comprehensive awards section where you can start to track down practices you might be interested in working for. it is worth spending some time on the site researching.

The architecture scene is strong, vibrant and varied, with 2 strong schools located in the CBD fringe, and most quality firms there also.

I studied and lived in Melbourne for 4 years and now live elsewhere. It is a constant temptation to me... I guess I am biased, but I think any objective person would agree with me.

Other cities to work in are Sydney [of course], Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth etc.

Apr 20, 05 3:11 am  · 
 · 
antipod

I'd have to pop in a vote for Melbourne as Australian city of choice as well. It's just a fantastic city to be in.