Archinect
anchor

Employment competition, academic reputation -- I have questions!

lachuga

I am a MAch student at the BAC (Boston Architectural Center) and I am considering transferring.

(note: the BAC is set up as a concurrent learning system where you work at a firm and attend school at the same time; ideally, one would put their school knowlegde to work at the firm, though that is not always realistic from the firm's point of view)

The reason I am considering the move is that I feel it may be more important for me to spend more time on my school work, because right now, I work on school stuff all weekend as well as evenings after work when I don't have classes. As a result of this limited amount of time, I feel my production is suffering.

Someone offering advice said to research how employers view graduates of my school versus graduates from traditional, academic-only programs to determine if the level of competition is the same.

1.) Are there any employers out there who have some input on this?

2.) Is there anyone working in the industry who might have some insight into this?

3.) If anyone has heard of the BAC (outside of Boston that is), what have you heard about it and it's reputation?

Thanks.

Apr 11, 05 4:33 pm
moto

I use to work in Boston during the summer when I was going to school on he west coast. I worked with a guy that went to BAC and talked to him about the same issue. He felt that BAC was basically a Tech. school and he needed to go to Grad school if he planned to move on to become a "design" architect at a larger firm. I will be honest, he was treated like a drafts person and he had been working at the same small office for 2 years and he had applied to other offices and they basically told him he would stay a drafts person if he went to another office. It didn't look very good for him. I would recommend transferring. There is something about that school that keeps people down... just my $.02

Apr 12, 05 12:58 pm  · 
 · 
pencrush