Archinect
anchor

Denmark Internship Question

someguy22

Denmark has a policy that you can not do an architectural internship there if you have completed your education to a Masters Level, unless an internship is required within your studies or you have been accepted for a relevant post-graduate course.

I just finished my masters in April and have been offered an internship in Copenhagen. I am worried that since I am a graduate I will not be able to accept it. Have any grads done this before? Is there a way to get around this rule? Any insight would be appreciated.

Aug 17, 11 6:32 pm
Anders

I think the office has the responsibility of following the rules. Ask them about it. I know that some offices in Denmark pay small fees to interns to avoid this problem (500-1000 euro/month).

Aug 18, 11 7:38 am  · 
 · 
lescape

If you have already completed your education (no matter it is bachelors or maters level), you cannot apply for an intern work permit. But you can apply a regular work permit - you'll have to communicate with your firm and let them adjust your title.

Congrats!

Aug 19, 11 12:08 am  · 
 · 

Hi there,

I am interested in the topic because i am close to obtain an internship in Denmark. I would like to know the regular payment for an intern (with 3-5 years of work experience) please! And to "someguy22" : how things resolved in the end?

Thank you!

Jun 30, 12 7:50 am  · 
 · 

Not sure what the Danish law is but I saw this statement on a Dutch firm's website (UNStudio) "In the Netherlands a strict difference exists between a trainee position and a professional position. In order to apply as a trainee, you have to be in school or university. Dutch tax regulations only permit trainees (non-graduates) to receive a compensation of € 600,- a month on top of the expected study grant."

Jun 30, 12 3:01 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

Just keep hush about your grad school and don't expect to be paid more than an undergrad intern ;P

Jun 30, 12 7:09 pm  · 
 ·