Archinect
anchor

is columbia the best?

redhead

guys , im opting for graduate degeree n wanted to apply at couple of colleges, can someone guide me which is the best college for graduate degrees , as im new to architecture so kindly tell me is columbia university supposed to b the best?

Apr 1, 05 5:16 am
miyaki

well.. the tops usually are the ivys which are princeton, yale, columbia, and harvard.... and more... i personally favor princeton (u might wanna read the thread i started about princeton "Grad Sch Admission: Princeton U." ).... but thats just me...not that i m in ..haha.. oh well

Apr 1, 05 5:36 am  · 
 · 
heterarch

this question has been asked several times. it never gets old for me, but it never gets 'answered/solved'... i say columbia is tops and personally shy heavily away from princeton/harvard/yale... but as miyaki said "that's just me" :)

Apr 1, 05 8:20 am  · 
 · 
trace™

it's all subjective. personally, I haven't seen good stuff come out of the other ivy's, but it's been many, many years since I saw good work come out of Columbia (the real good work was in the early '90s, Harvard the 80s, I think, and it goes back, with each having about 10 years of good work, then it fades).

but to simply answer your question: no.

Apr 1, 05 8:47 am  · 
 · 
Ms Beary

I think Columbia's glory years are over, but if you want to go there, go.

I truly, truly do not understand picking a school for a ranking. You can consider it, but it should be far down on the list, no?

Apr 1, 05 8:51 am  · 
 · 
joed