Archinect
anchor

NaaB Matters

redhead

a lot of ppl talk about naab , can someone tell me how important to get in to a naab affliated grad studies, im an aspiring undergrad. student applying for graduate schools, so should i follow the naab listed 113 schools of architecture for graduations as the best options or ives are the best , when u r out for hunting the job?

Mar 31, 05 7:00 am
A

It's a little early in the morning for me but I can't for the life of me remember what the difference is between the NAAB and the NCARB

Mar 31, 05 8:46 am  · 
 · 

ncarb has to do with registration. naab is the organization that reviews and accredits architecture schools.

if your school is not naab accredited - or if your specific degree within the school is not accredited - there may be some question about whether you're recognized by ncarb as eligible for idp and then the registration exams.

Mar 31, 05 8:50 am  · 
 · 
hannitect

Yes, and when you got a non-NAAB accredited degree, and try to get a NCARB certificate, NCARB will ask you to go through EESA (Education Evaluation service for Architect) by NAAB to see if your educational background is really up to NAAB standard or not. If yes, fine, problem solved; if Not, and if you are still trying to seek for NCARB certificate, then you will be needed to go back to school (NAAB accredited) to take courses to make up the credits you need for that standard, regardless what kind of advanced degree you've already have !!!

EESA - http://www.naab.org/information2657/information_show.htm?doc_id=46653

Mar 31, 05 10:10 am  · 
 · 
A

I knew they went hand in hand in some manner. At least I knew there was a reason why I went to a NAAB arch school.

Mar 31, 05 11:06 am  · 
 · 
Bloopox

EESA evaluation is more appropriate for a foreign degree holder.