Archinect
anchor

why are we doing this?

huckin

why are we about to get into this whole architecture mess? it is interesting and mind expanding and sort of gives you something to live for. and you get to hang out with smart people and learn cool concepts. but if i am asking this question in the first place is it worth going to arch school?

i'm a consultant, and it sucks. i need a profession where i like the process, not just the results ($). did the gsd summer program and loved it. but architecture is exceedingly difficult...

i have offers from columbia, upenn, ut, which really sucks because it is hard to turn schools like those down.

Mar 26, 05 11:52 am
LenaV

Wow. Either you have cold feet, or you seriously need to reconsider the major lifestyle change on which you are embark.

Architecture as a discipline is exceedingly difficult, but studio is the only part of my life where I feel alive, and get the same feeling (well, mentally) when I had my braces. They used to hurt like hell but if I bit down, the pain disseminated into this peculiarly intense pleasurable feeling. A lot of people would gnaw off a limb (or two) to be in the position you're in now, but if your heart isn't into it and you accept the challenge, you'd be doing a disservice to your fellow studio mates who'll immediately sense your negative energy. I got into UPenn, Columbia and MIT, and I'll have to let two down... but these past few days have been the happiest of my entire existance on this DAMN PLANET.

Good luck man.

Mar 26, 05 1:53 pm  · 
 · 
pasha

dear Sisyphus..

every building collapses..

every name is forgotten..

except ...

Mar 27, 05 11:26 am  · 
 · 
swell