Archinect
anchor

Finished with Architecture-

moto

So I have been doing this for 4 years now and have decided that I no longer want to be apart of this profession. Don't get me wrong, I love design, I love building, and I love managing big projects. But I don't like the pay, the “eating the young” that is so popular in architecture, and I don't like the hours. Last week I told my boss that I would no longer be in the profession after the project I am managing is finished (4 months from now). I am still very interested in the architecture community but just can't get up every day doing architecture in the traditional sense. Am I the only one that thinks this way, does anyone else see it this way?

Mar 24, 05 11:38 am
db

you're not the only one that feels this way. at the end of 4 months you may also feel differently. hard things are worth doing because they're hard. just don't throw the baby out with the bathwater. keep your options open -- and maybe have a heart-to-heart with your boss to see how you can continue without "selling out" if that's possible.

Mar 24, 05 11:55 am  · 
 · 
sweet em

What are you going to do instead?

Mar 24, 05 11:55 am  · 
 · 
trace™

Tell your boss how it is before you leave. He should know, and maybe he'll think twice before making someone else work long hours with little pay.

I recently worked at a firm where there was one guy that would leave at 5pm, everyday, regardless. Much respect for him. He realize that his priority was his family, not the office. No one else there did that. Takes a lot of courage and confidence to leave when others are staying.

More people should be like him.

Good luck (fyi, it took me about 6 months to reach that conclusion).

Mar 24, 05 12:22 pm  · 
 · 
heterarch