Archinect
anchor

non-professional arch undergrad.

lennon

which do you think has the highest chance to get in to M.Arch,
other things being equal.

1. BA a social science (apply for 3+ yr M.Arch)
2. BA architecture (apply for 2+ yr M.Arch)
3. BA a social science & architecture (double major) (apply for 2+ M.Arch)
4. BA a social science & studio art (double) (apply for 3+ M.Arch)

i know this is stupid..
but i wanna know what you guys think

Mar 18, 05 1:37 am
LBG

Strictly based on the options (kinda like a GRE exam)...4. Only because the social science provides a multidisciplinary background and studio art provides you with spatial composition...just my opinion.

Mar 18, 05 4:03 am  · 
 · 
trace™

I have a BS (Bachelors in Science). It was a 4 year undergrad, strictly ALL architecture. Most of us go into the schools we wanted for grad (including the Ivy's).

That's the safest way to do it. If you do something else, it had better be special.

Mar 18, 05 11:11 am  · 
 · 
bdonn

hmmm...

I'm doing a B.A. in Architectural Studies & Fine Art History. (Although I studied Comp Sci for a year and so I have Calculus, Physics, Algebra, Programming...)

I suppose we'll find out next year if I get into the Ivy's. ;)

Mar 18, 05 4:51 pm  · 
 · 
bdonn

Note: I spoke with graduate admissions at my school (U of T) and they completely discouraged me from doing a pre-professional undergrad in JUST architecture. They deemed it way too focused and suggested I do fine art history as well.

Mar 18, 05 4:57 pm  · 
 · 
Aluminate

I would choose either choice 2 or 4. Here are some reasons why and some things to think about:

Either of these choices will give you a good portfolio to apply with. Remember that your portfolio need not include much or any architecture projects if you're applying to a first-professional M.Arch program.