Archinect
anchor

CATIA

caste

Anyone here used it? Anyone here know if its around?..Its the software Gehry supposedly uses and Im wondering how it lines up

Jun 2, 04 12:42 am
dia

You're a bit behind. See http://www.archinect.com/forum/threads.php?id=1247_0_22_0_C

Jun 2, 04 12:59 am  · 
 · 
nicke

diabase:

feel free to introduce yourself

I was a CATIA designer for Gehry for 3 years, nearly all of which was on DCH.

Despite the efforts of the spinoff Gehry Technologies, it appears that CATIA V5, despite 13 revisions, has been a great disappointment in the world of Gehry-style architecture. The GT BIM add-on press-released a year ago is apparently months or years away from showtime...

Jun 14, 04 10:56 am  · 
 · 
g-love

nicke -

can you elaborate a little bit where they've had disappointments with catia? we had jim glymph down here a couple of months ago and i spoke at great lengths with him about the software they were developing. he didn't paint a 'hey, everything is perfect' kind of picture, but it also didn't appear as though they were having the kinds of problems you're implying. i'd love to hear someone in the trenches explain where the shortcomings in the system are.

(btw - he acknowledged a lot of problems with dch - he was much more enthusiastic talking about stata center and how it simplified some things there.)

thanks -

Jun 14, 04 3:11 pm  · 
 · 
nicke

I left Gehry in July 01 just as most of team was transferred to the DCH jobsite in downtown LA. For whatever cultural reason, with very few exceptions, the studio has treated ex-CATIA designers/technicians with a very cold shoulder...of course one obvious reason is that none of us contractors were credentialed architects. (CATIA always has been and may always be first and foremost an aerospace/automotive MCad application) There are only a handful of staff architects remaining with significant V4 experience.

With respect to CATIA V5, here is what a friend wrote me recently: