Archinect
anchor

I NEED BOOKS THAT TEACH THE BASICS OF CONSTRUCTION - PLEASE RECOMEND THEM TO ME

costafinkel

I'm an architect student on the 3rd semester and I need to learn the basics about construction ASAP.

Im 29yr and never had any contact with construction prior to the architecture course - So, I need a book for beginners, absent of complex parts. I need the basics.

What I really wanted is a book that tells step-by-step what is to be done on the construction of a simple concrete house. From the preparation of the land, to a simple pillar structure, to the roof and everything in between. Nothing complex.

Can anybody recomend me 1 or more books? I'll buy anything I can put my hands on about basic construction books. I'll buy them on ebay.

Aug 4, 11 1:07 am

Book isn't going to teach construction. It only teaches he theory not the practice.

I would recommend for starters to get Francis D. K. Ching book "Building Construction Illustrated". This would be a general start for an architecture class. If I were you, I would take some construction classes during the summer. May not be part of the Architecture degree but something to get real world experience and also work in construction for a summer and also go to the lumber yard.

Just because you are studying to be an architect, don't act like you are superior and smarter than builders. Guess what... YOU'RE NOT ! ! ! !

You don't know squat about construction even after a  year degree until you actually do the work.

I have classes in historic preservation/restoration at Clatsop Community College. It entails a field-school basis model. Alot of actual hands-on workshops. It involves alot of work. It entails basic construction and then historic preservation / restoration techniques.

There are alot of books but you need to do things in a field setting to solidify the understanding.