Archinect
anchor

Simple HTML question...

glick

I have read through the dreamweaver threads and I have not found an answer...so here is the question for any who would be kind enough to answer:

I am creating a website in dreamweaver and would simply like the main graphic/navigation/image display to stay centered in the browser window when minimizing and maximizing. A good example can be found here: www.comma-nyc.com

I am new to web design and have read through the tutorials but I can't figure it out...and my head hurts. Is this easy to do? Why is something so simple so hard!!!

Thanks for any help!

Mar 2, 05 10:33 am
a-f

I haven't coded HTML for a long time, but if remember correctly, it's a good idea to create a 3x3 table (or frame). Set the whole table to autofit the browser window, then set the center cell to desired width/height (in pixels, preferrably).

Mar 2, 05 10:54 am  · 
 · 
e

<table border=0 cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 width="100%" height="100%">
<tr><td align=center valign=middle>

Mar 2, 05 10:59 am  · 
 · 
glick

thanks for your replies...

a-f:

What to you mean by 3x3 table? is that just a proportion?

e:

I am not code literate...altough I am reading about it currently...is there a way I can do what that code says through a dialogue box in dreamweaver.

or...where would i copy and paste that code line into?

Mar 2, 05 11:09 am  · 
 · 
a-f

No, three rows and three columns. Sorry, but I don't have access to Dreamweaver at the moment, so I can't give you the exact command.

Mar 2, 05 11:12 am  · 
 · 
monkeyboy

if you rdid the tutorial you would know where to paste it. you're a lier and a cheat!

Mar 2, 05 11:14 am  · 
 · 
glick

a-f:

I understand now. I can search for the autofit option, but do you have a general idea where it may be? Thanks.

e:

I just saw your site...very nice! Hopefully I will become literate enough to approach that kind of design someday. I am trying to put in your code lines right now.

Mar 2, 05 11:19 am  · 
 · 
glick