Archinect
anchor

Architectural Outsider Wondering About Humble Beginnings in the Industry

orionmartins

Dear Archinect people,

I am a 21 year old architecture and design lover who does not have a bachelors degree. 

I'm wondering how possible it would be to get a job anywhere between architects assistant and receptionist/coffeeboy with my current skillset.

I'll keep the tale as short as I can. I got my Associates degree by the time I was 18 and when I transferred to the 4 year, I fell in love with architecture, but was largely discouraged by the inconvenience of transferring into the discipline, especially once Corona swept through. 

I took a few university courses in architecture, spent months apprenticed under a natural builder, renovated my barn, did various construction jobs, traveled, maintained a daily meditation practice, moved to Chicago and lived as a jazz musician, made a bunch of art, and worked fulfilling odd jobs.

On paper I look pretty scattered, but in person, I have a good work ethic, a very level and perceptive head, and a really genuine love of the craft. I also have a lot of willingness to put in my time doing simple stuff.

Thanks,

Orion

Aug 22, 23 8:55 pm
graphemic

Do you want a job in architecture or a career as an architect? 

Genuine question, because those are two different paths. If you'd like a job, there are plenty of adjacent positions either in or out of architecture offices that could be fulfilling. Especially if you don't want to be locked into one thing for thirty years. If you'd like to "be" an architect then you should follow the traditional school-exam-practice path, but it's certainly not too late. In your case, a 5 year accredited BArch would maybe work. 

Anyhow, clarifying the question can help us give you advice. 

Aug 22, 23 9:20 pm  · 
2  · 
graphemic