Archinect
anchor

Wrongful Termination?

SouthCoast

I know we're not lawyers, but...

It's been a long year.  I left a really bad, abusive workplace in February, moved across the country for a neat opportunity that felt like a really good fit, and was terminated yesterday with zero warning. 

I'm an unlicensed young professional, recently graduated with my masters.  In April, I moved from Colorado to Massachusetts to take a job in the town architect's office of a small municipality.  Government seemed like a really safe next step - above average salary, union membership, and a pension.  I was primarily working on the restoration of town-owned historic buildings, which I loved.  You don't get to do much historic preservation in private practice.  

The culture of the office was a MASSIVE adjustment:  We strictly worked construction hours, 7:00 AM to 3:30 PM, and when I say 7:00, I mean 6:50.  Everyone wore a town uniform.  There was absolutely no flexibility in schedule or work-from-home.  Working from home was considered strictly for emergencies only, but was possible.  (I didn't learn that until much later on).  An important piece of background is that I had recently been diagnosed with IBD and GERD, two very painful and disruptive digestive conditions that are chronic.  As such, I needed to work from home occasionally in order to stay productive.  On my first day I informed the office of my diagnoses and assured them that I was seeking treatment. 

My first performance review was negative, though it only came a month after I started.  It primarily focussed on my need to work from home.  It included the following language: "...Supposed health conditions prevent him from working..." and  "...Hasn't been able to complete a 40 hour week in-office..."