Archinect
anchor

Design Software Necessary?

diegoalexismorales-suarez

I started learning Revit on my own but after a few days got sick of it, it seems to be more computer knowledge than architectural knowledge. I am new to this, being in my first quarter of a three year licensure, so I might just have overwhelmed myself trying to learn it on my own with the tutorials. Right now pencil and paper seem to be friendlier on the mind. I do have a feeling computer software(Revit/autocad/bim?/etc) is a large bonus (almost necessary) to know nowadays if I want to eventually get hired by an architectural firm. So my question is... Should I get started learning the programs asap and is it even necessary? I think the cost to rent the programs would cause a major loss in profit if not an expense instead of profiting from a project. One thing to note if you want to answer my question is that I'm not in the US where things are super advanced and projects are executed rather quickly. 

Aug 1, 23 3:40 pm

Are you a student?  If so in what country?

There isn't any 'architectural knowledge' in Revit.  It's a tool, just like a pencil.  Just like any other tool, Revit will not teach you anything about architecture or how buildings go together.  

As the owner of the first firm I worked with said "I don't care if you know _____ (insert program name here).  We will teach you that.  We've hired you because of your design skills."

Knowing Revit is helpful in terms of getting your first position however knowing how to design, building science, and presentation skills are more important.  This is especially true for your first position after graduation.  

Aug 1, 23 3:46 pm  · 
 ·