Archinect
anchor

Questions about Probationary Period

SouthCoast

Hello everyone, 

After leaving a toxic, abusive office, I have been in a new job now for a few months and I'm loving it.  I work in the public sector, which is like a dream, and finally feel ready to settle in to a more sustainable place in life.  It really is like a dream job.  Office is fun, projects are engaging, and at first, I felt extremely relieved.  Going from the private sector to the public sector has been a culture shock, but mostly a good one. 

I wanted some advice about my probationary period. I had my first review yesterday, which in a word, was not good. I've only been at the job for two months so they acknowledged that A) they had very little to go on and B) many things had already been corrected by the time the review was submitted. But anyways, the review reveals a few things:

- A chronic illness I have, IBD (think Chron's disease) is causing problems. I have started coming in early to the office, which is challenging, but it seems to have helped me make a better impression. However, it was noted that working from home is "simply not done", and the four times I have done this during bad symptoms/flairs has been concerning to them. I had requested approval for it and it was approved, but even so I think I ran afoul of a cultural norm for more old-fashioned government jobs. 

- I found out that the walls have ears. Coworkers I became friendly with early on had reported things they found worrisome, which makes me feel extremely paranoid. I'm already a very anxious person, and the feeling of being watched does not help. The office is in a very provincial, tight-knit area of New England where outsiders are regarded with suspicion. Luckily for me I was born there - though now I know that I have to be careful about where I share my own concerns and with whom.