Archinect
anchor

Transitioning out of practice

Emily234

Hi!

After a bit of advice. I’m due to qualify as an architect in the UK in September. My undergrad was in Interior architecture. I got a job at a small practice focusing on high end resi, hospitality & office projects as an interior architect. I have worked there full time whilst working to get my Part 1, 2 and 3 part time, after work. 

I’m incredibly grateful for the experience and I do still really love architecture. However, I have been working full time whilst studying for the last 8 years meaning I have used all my weekends and holidays to do university work. I’m feeling a bit burned out and I’m considering selling my house, taking a career break and slow travelling solo for a year in 2024. I’ve always dreamt of traveling & feel if I don’t do it now I never will! 

The dream situation would be to get a remote job for 20-30 hours a week so I’m not completely burning through savings.

As I’m sure you are aware there are few remote architect or interior design roles, especially for 20-30 hours a week. 

I was wondering if anyone had any ideas of something I could perhaps look to transition into? Or if there’s anyone out there that has transitioned out of practice into a position they would recommend? 

For example I have seen a couple of remote lecturer positions which may work. My university has asked me if I would like to tutor the undergraduates one day a week - which I would accept in order  to look favourable, if I do decide to apply to be a remote lecturer. 

Or I often see remote visualiser jobs but would have to spend this next few months building a better visual portfolio, brushing up on the newest software etc. 

I’ve seen a couple remote jobs for companies building their components as families for downloads. 

I’ve seen a few remote design manager roles for hotel chains - these require travel to various hotels - but this may fit. Or maybe something to do with estate planning etc.