Archinect
anchor

Summer intern

maithilili

Hello everyone, 

I'm a summer intern working at a pretty well known firm. I'm working in their healthcare division. But repetitively I'm just hearing that as summer internship is not long term there's not much they can assign me on, but I'm here to work and gain experience more importantly, how can I convince or ask for work? 

-An intern who is in desperate need for help.

May 30, 23 11:08 am

First off I am assuming you're being paid a fair hourly wage for your area.  If not leave.  

As for your main question:  

Simple - ask for more work.  

If you're not getting more work then ask your bosses why.  

May 30, 23 11:10 am  · 
 · 
maithilili

Getting paid less work, I've been promised some work but I've been just floating from project to project.

May 30, 23 3:36 pm  · 
 · 

That's normal. You're a summer intern with no experience.

May 30, 23 5:05 pm  · 
1  · 
Non Sequitur

if it's an unpaid internship, then leave yesterday.  Otherwise, ask you direct supervisor if anyone needs a hand.  Alternatively, spend your time reading up on past projects to get valuable experience.

May 30, 23 12:28 pm  · 
2  · 
maithilili

Yes it's not unpaid. I've been asking every morning. I'm just floating around lol.

May 30, 23 3:36 pm  · 
 · 
Almosthip

You are an intern, you going to just float around, you don't know enough to be given your own project or any responsibility for anything. Just soak in as much as you can while you are there. Go clean the print room or something when others dont have work for you. Go get everyone coffee, they will love you for that

May 30, 23 3:50 pm  · 
4  · 
maithilili

Haha okay! Noted :)

May 31, 23 8:38 am  · 
 · 
maithilili

The reason for concern is just that I'm a master's student, but also international, so I did my undergrad in India and I'm looking for experience :D

May 31, 23 8:39 am  · 
 · 
reallynotmyname