Archinect
anchor

Is getting a new job the way to go?

SignPlease

I'm an entry-level architectural designer who graduated from school last year and landed my first job at one of the largest firms in the US. While I'm grateful for the opportunity and the decent salary (low 70s), I'm facing some challenges that are leaving me unsatisfied and unfulfilled.

One of the main issues I'm encountering is that my manager doesn't seem to prioritize my growth or development. As a result, I often feel like I'm not learning enough or being adequately challenged in my work. It's tough to maintain motivation when there's limited guidance and support.

Should I get a new job in search of a higher salary and a more engaging work environment? Money is currently the primary factor keeping me tied to this job, given the low cost of living in my city.

I'm aware that staying in a job for a short period of time can have its drawbacks, but I'm at a stage in my career where I want to make sure I'm on the right path and continually improving my skills. Have any of you been in a similar situation? If so, what did you do to overcome these challenges?

May 23, 23 11:48 pm
Pzha

Which school you graduated from?

May 24, 23 12:08 am  · 

That has absolutely no bearing on this.

May 24, 23 9:32 am  · 
3  · 
monosierra

Agree that it shouldn't ... but there are some places where either alumni form cliques or teachers favor former students.

May 24, 23 9:51 am  · 
1  · 

Maybe for getting the initial position but the OP has been at the firm for a year. Where they went to school is immaterial to the work that they are able to produce and thus the opportunities they would get. If a firm is only giving opportunities to alumni of certain schools regardless of a person's work then they are not a place you should be working with.

May 24, 23 10:09 am  · 
3  · 

So you've been at your current firm for a year?