Archinect
anchor

Designer or AOR - career stability

Archi_intown

I am an Architectural Designer with three years of experience…..I have been laid off from a top design firm due to the slowdown of projects in the office and lately I have been thinking in how unstable and easy is to get replaced as a young designer. So I just got a job offer from a top well known AOR firm and I wonder if being away from design and more involved into the technical, Construction drawings and administration could potentially increase my skills and be more valuable to a design firm in case of switching back to design…. Any advices? 

May 20, 23 2:48 am

The technical and Construction documents are what people pay you for not making sketches a pre-school child can do. While design is good and actually being good at that. You need to be good with the stuff the client couldn't do themselves like the technical and difficult stuff. The stuff that warrants a 4+ year college education. Get good with the technical, professional, and ability to put together and facilitate the preparation of professional quality competently prepared technical drawings, specifications, and other PROFESSIONAL documents. That's where the money is in the architectural/building design. Get good with that and good with "design" then you'll be more valuable and the desire to retain you would increase. You'll need to get into developing project management and leadership skills as well. 

May 20, 23 5:11 am  · 
luvu

Rick, have you ever fam

May 20, 23 7:04 am  · 
 · 
Bench

OP you should disregard this advice. He's never worked in an office.

May 20, 23 3:53 pm  · 
1  ·