Archinect
anchor

Internship importance in architecture - Seeking advice on program options

ogwant

Hello everyone,

I am an international student who will be completing my B.Arch degree at US this May and will be starting a Master of Science in Architecture program. I am seeking advice regarding the importance of completing an internship before graduation and how it can impact my job search in the future.

I have three program options, all of them are in ivy ivy league schools, each with a different timeline and opportunity for an internship. 

The first program is 1.5 years long, allowing me to pursue an internship in the summer of 2023. 

The second program is 1 year long, and I would be able to pursue an internship in the following summer, but I would need to return to my home country to find an internship due to OPT issues. 

The third program is also 1 year long, but I may not have the chance to find an internship before graduation in May 2024.

The cost of them are 1>2>3.

Considering the different timelines and opportunities for internships, I would like to know how important it is to complete an internship before graduation in the architecture industry. I would also appreciate any advice on which program option would be best for gaining internship experience and how I can make the most of my studies to enhance my future career prospects.

Thank you for your advice and insights!

Apr 6, 23 11:32 am

First thought - if you're going to have a BArch then why are attending a masters program? 

Apr 6, 23 11:57 am  · 
 · 
ogwant