Archinect
anchor

Task-based, remote work; does it exist in this field?

Frank_Lloyd_Wrong

I am interested in applying for a digital nomad visa to move to Spain in a few years when I am more established in my career.  I would need ot have a remote job here, which to my understanding is not the most common situation in architecture but is certainly not impossible to find.  I would also need to figure out the time difference; I do not want to be working at 2AM.  Are there firms where the work schedule is more task-based, instead of everyone working the same hours?  I am not concerned about whether this would be a work situation where I could continue to advance my career as an architect, I more interested in having a work-life balance with the opportunity to travel and have a life outside the office.

Feb 23, 23 12:27 pm
ill_will

Task based, probably not. Maybe in a niche situation, like if you were a consultant or a founding principal. Point being, you'd need some considerable weight to throw around whether it be extreme talent or extreme seniority. Kind of unlikely that you wouldn't be around the office even in these circumstances, I mean, in the sense of commitment to quality. 

Additionally, if you pay attention to recent trends/articles on linkedin, many firms are making the push to get their employees back into the office. Heck, we're loosing WFH Mondays in April. 

The time difference is a google search away my dude. Nobody wants to work at 2am. 

Feb 23, 23 12:46 pm  · 
 · 
Frank_Lloyd_Wrong

Yup, that is my concern. Guess I will be trapped in my cubicle forever.

Feb 23, 23 1:32 pm  · 
1  · 
ill_will

Cubicle 4 lyfe.

Feb 23, 23 2:43 pm  · 
 · 
reallynotmyname

Are you willing to nerd out?  You could develop convincing expertise in one or more specialties that US architectural employees don't like to do.  Specification writing comes to mind.  Also QA/QC, maybe sophisticated envelope details, LEED documentation, complex code/life safety analysis.