Archinect
anchor

Specializing in Environmental Graphics

numberonerenzopianofan

Curious if anyone here works in or specializes in environmental graphics/wayfinding/signage. I'm a student at the end of a dual degree in industrial design and visual communications who has always wanted to pursue a career in architecture. Over the last year I have become more interested in environmental graphic design as it seems like a good blend of spatial thinking and visual design. Furthermore, this career path would allow me to work adjacent to architecture without the money and years of training to become registered.

I am debating whether to: 1) pursue my M.Arch upon graduation or 2) pursue employment at an EGD office and specialize in this discipline

What are the pros and cons of a career in environmental graphics as opposed to a traditional architecture path? 

Jan 20, 23 12:57 pm
betonbrut

I know Gensler has an internal environmental graphics studio or studios. NBBJ used to and may still have something, likely embedded in their interiors department. I think it is a worthwhile area to focus on, but understand it is a niche aspect of the built environment.

Jan 20, 23 1:06 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

A very important niche that can contribute mightily to how people experience that built environment.

Jan 20, 23 1:23 pm  · 
2  · 
natematt

A lot of large firms have studios or groups specializing in this.

Jan 20, 23 2:19 pm  · 
 · 
numberonerenzopianofan

Thanks for the reply, it does seem like most of the work in EGD is commercial/cultural/education so it would make sense that larger firms have EGD teams.

Jan 22, 23 5:06 pm  · 
 · 
pandahut