Archinect
anchor

Contentious Thread, Enter Beware! What are some things that you do not like about architecture?

DickCheney

I will start. I should also mention a forethought that I am trying to keep this as a serious thread and professional. I see a lot of ranting on here loosely thrown around but just curious to hear others' perspective in rational thinking, what you do not like about the profession.

I was an artist before going back to school for architecture. One of the reasons I loved art was its ability to provide an outlet for creative thinking outside the norms of the [BOX]. Box being the normative world of rational thought, societal standards and overall disregard it often had for perception and profit (no need to dig into me here, I am well aware about commercialization of the art world now).

I love Architecture, I do not love the commercialization of this art form as a model for profit. One cannot exist without the other in many regards but I often find myself so inspired listening to some of the greats of the design world (Steve Jobs (sort of ICK but a smooth talker, David Kelley, Pentagram, etc.) on one hand talk too well about creatives who are put into this box to conform to society and those who go against the grain and just do things their own way. Of course this is romanticized A LOT and they talk from a very privileged perspective of success and also from a leadership standpoint. Sometimes I just feel like when I am so deep into the whole I lose a little bit of that spark of WHY I love architecture and why I pursued it to begin with. The irony being it is hard not to sell out in the art world (not a trust fund baby) and form a comfortable living. I understand that architects are only a small piece of the pie to getting work done but sometimes you look around the room and wonder how in the pursuit of creative and constructive endeavor got consumed by  greed.