Archinect
anchor

Feeling discouraged and unsure what a good route is from here

JJC91

I’m 31 years old and entering my fourth year in Interior Design next year in Melbourne, Australia.

Prior to Interiors I did a whole degree in psychology, spent a couple of years working different admin jobs while trying to figure out what I wanted to do/managed some chronic illness and then worked as a sales co-ordinator  at a very well known furniture company for a couple of years. I then ended up working as kitchen designer and subsequently got into studying interior design, which finds me here at 31 working part time as a kitchen designer while completing quite an intense degree with a cohort of people 10 years younger than me.

Throughout my interior studies my grades have really fluctuated. I’ve gotten a handful of HDs, but also have worked super hard in some classes only to JUST pass. All the while, my younger peers are on a HD average and are winning design competitions. I also have ADHD and have found that while I may be super engaged in my schooling, I can totally miss the mark if I don’t understand what the professor wants from me and have had to be a pain in the ass, badgering these disgruntled profs to reluctantly give me some vague clarification.

I’m particularly good at REVIT, design theory/writing and have an interest in human centred design. I’m also really skilled at my job as a kitchen designer and get a lot of fulfilment from offering clever solutions to clients and these sorts of interactions are really what drew me to this career. If I was to think of my ideal career it would be working at a fun, left of centre firm with a good team of people and clientele that I vibe with.