Archinect
anchor

Paid in architecture

Marco Marco

Just have a question 

Does architecture firm considered related experience when they pay employee?

I’ve working in architecture where they originally use AutoCAD. They hire me to tried the Revit, and I have criticized that Revit suck but they keep operating with it and trying to find person who good at Revit to work. I have 4 years experience in architecture and completed AXP and 2 years in interior design and 2 years in construction.

The job posted with title of project manager but they told me that I’m an intern. I supposed to call myself an intern? Is that even sound right when you completed internship? So I got paid very low and produce a lot of works to the company base on my calculations they could earn like $800,000 in revenue for several projects. They can even afforded to buy they own building.

I do all codes related work, all drafting, and designed the building alone. I feel like they took advantage of employee. Do you how much BIM consultant cost?

Sep 13, 22 1:25 am
Non Sequitur

sounds like you’re bad at negotiating compensation or perhaps your experience is not as good as you think it is. Also, revit does not suck. Junior/interns who don’t know shit thinks it sucks. Experienced folks know it’s uses and limits. 

Sep 13, 22 6:22 am  · 
2  · 
newbie.Phronesis

Agreed, but to be fair - Revit could be much better for architects. (that open letter in 2020: https://archinect.com/news/article/150209385/autodesk-responds-to-revit-criticism)

Sep 13, 22 9:51 pm  · 
 · 
monosierra

Kind of need more context. Region/market, business size, your work authorization status if any, would be helpful.

Sep 13, 22 9:00 am  · 
1  · 
reallynotmyname