Archinect
anchor

A degree in architecture, now what?

Dais_C

Hi there, 

I'm currently studying architecture in the UK, and I'm going into my 3rd and final year to complete an undergrad degree. Unfortunately, my love for becoming a future architect has declined, and I know this isn't something I would want to pursue as a career. However, I really enjoy the design work I do for the course, and would love to carry that through in a job once I've finished. My question is, what sort of architectural design jobs are out there, or any other design career paths that I could go to with my degree, and what would be the best advice you guys can give me, for someone who's feeling quite anxious about the future and what pathways there are available for me to take?

Thank you to all who can help :) 

Aug 31, 22 5:06 pm

Ask your professors.  

Aug 31, 22 6:38 pm  · 
2  · 
chris-chitect

Don't ask the professors ;) I've never met a group of people so disconnected from reality, at least where I attended school.

Sep 5, 22 3:37 pm  · 

You must of gone to a really bad school then chris. All of my professors where architects in their 60's with decades of real world experience.

Sep 8, 22 11:17 am  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

architecture in the UK as a graduate? Good luck with your house share.

Aug 31, 22 6:45 pm  · 
chris-chitect

If I were in the UK I'd enroll in a trade school to learn to install air conditioning. I'm partly joking but they probably have far better prospects for the near future.

Just before I came across this post I was thinking about how I started architecture school 16 years ago this week. People might be annoyed on this forum that once again we have another "what can I do with my degree?" post, but it's so incredibly important to be discussing this. A lot of people studying architecture should not be studying architecture.