Archinect
anchor

NFTs: why would anyone pay for a link to a JPG?

Hi everyone, about a decade ago I got an m.Arch and m.Sci in architecture. My first week studying architecture I got interested in parametric modeling with Grasshopper, and a year or two later Arduino/Raspberry Pi's with IoT/smart environment sensing with interactive installations. My thesis back then was basically that data/information was a new material and needed to be better integrated to the built environment beyond slapping a screen on everything.

After graduating I went to work for one of the flat glass manufacturer's R&D HQs working on integrating IoT sensors and various active glass tech like PDLC. Moved to India and worked in new product development for one of their big companies and got more and more into programming, eventually moving to Japan where I worked as an AI/ML developer for 2 or 3 years.

Back in grad school I used to build GPU workstations for a lot of people in my cohort and got exposed to bitcoin/etc (we didn't mine though, because we had Nvidia GPUs for CUDA/Octane, and they weren't as effective as AMDs).

Because of Covid, had more time on my hands, got into crypto again and came across NFTs, my immediate reaction to which was "why would anyone pay for a link to a JPG?" As a designer the easiest way to invalidate that statement was to think about what if they weren't just links to JPGs (receipts), but something intrinsic to itself (more like a blueprint or sheet music).

Long story short, came up with and released an NFT on a proof of stake (no mining so no huge carbon footprint) blockchain that was heavily influenced by my architectural training/background. It sold out over 2 months, after which I was able to quit my job because of it.