Archinect
anchor

Best place to work in Canada for architect couple?

Krishiee

Hi, my husband and I both have a masters degree. We both studied for our bachelors in India and I did my masters in RISD and he in Winnipeg. He's continued to stay in Winnipeg, finding a job there. Now I'm also planning to move to Canada (waiting for PR), and want to move to a new place together. I'm design-oriented and he's into technical stuff. Where would be the perfect place for us to start a new life as a husband and wife and as well as architects? 

Oct 25, 21 11:08 am
Non Sequitur

Plenty of work going on all over the country and everyone is looking for staff... so you really can't go wrong (unless you pick quebec), but you should consider which provincial association you want to register for internship first.  Requirements are the same everywhere (except quebec) but it's good to commit to one place long enough to establish a connection with a mentor as you record hours.  Licensing exams are the same everywhere, including quebec, but please note that you are not considered an architect until you jump through our (frozen) hoops and get your education accredited.

With all that said, loads of construction going on in my part of the maple-syrup infused tundra aka Eastern Ontario.

Oct 25, 21 11:38 am  · 
 · 
Bench

I believe the education accreditation may be unnecessary as CACB and NCARB both recognize American and Canadian professional M.Arch's. I don't remember having to accredit my undergrad degree, so the origin of that may not matter.

To answer the original question, Toronto seems like the obvious choice, however there is likely more stability and work/life balance in exurb communities if you are open to that. Many of the commuter towns into Toronto seem to have quite a few openings, as they sometimes struggle to attract people out of the city.

Oct 25, 21 12:34 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur