Archinect
anchor

M.Arch programs that explore the social impact of design?

Kiiiwiiibiiird

I know it sounds cliche, but I want to ultimately  “make a difference” with my career. I’m interested in social justice and inequality, and am considering doing a one year Masters of Urban Design after my M.Arch.

I graduated with a BS Arch a couple years ago and am currently doing an unrelated AmeriCorps program. It is time to get back to architecture, and I’m researching grad school options.

I would love to hear any suggestions on architecture grad programs that sound like a good fit. My research has led me to schools like Berkeley and Michigan, but it is hard to tell what schools actually have this focus and what schools are saying so just for show. For example, I love this statement on equity from Columbia, but it is hard to tell if they actually incorporate that into the curriculum.

Any advice or suggestions are much appreciated!

Jun 14, 21 12:05 am
monosierra

I think Yale's Vlock and Auburn's Rural Studio are two programs that are long-running, though the Vlock lasts a summer only. Some schools offer what you might deem socially consicious studios on a term-by-term basis - say, if MASS Design or Marina Tabassum is teaching for a semester at the GSD.

Jun 14, 21 11:28 am  · 
3  · 
lower.case.yao

Agreed, it’s highly dependent on the critics teaching that semester. The Leong brothers are currently working with a native hawaiian architect on research in restoration and revitalization of native hawaiian habitats and culture, and they’ve been alternating between studios at columbia and MIT.

Jun 14, 21 11:50 am  · 
1  · 
monosierra