Archinect
anchor

BSc Arch (USA) versus MArch (Canada)

ryanpriefer

Hello everyone. I am currently living in the USA on a visa and plan on attending college in either USA or Canada, in the hopes of pursuing a career in Architecture. 

I have a BSc in Fashion Design from Brazil and was originally looking to attend an undergraduate program in Canada for Architecture. However, I was rejected and have now been reconsidering my options.

My main question is: does Canada generally require a M.Arch to begin the process to become a licensed Architect, and does the USA require only a BSc to begin the process of becoming a licensed Architect?

My second question: given I have an undergraduate degree in a (semi) related field (it involved much hands-on lab work and was extremely applied), am I correct in thinking that I can technically apply to Master's programs in Canada/USA without having the undergraduate degree in Architecture? It would save me a lot of time and money.

My third question: Does the USA accept all accredited universities in Canada, and vice versa? I tried googling but could not find much more beyond "yes."

I appreciate the feedback!

Jun 2, 21 7:58 pm
Non Sequitur

I can throw a few quick answers

1. Yes, you need an accredited M.Arch in order to start the process towards becoming an architect in Canada.  You can find the list of Canadian accredited university programs at the CACB website.  There is an alternative method (RAIC Syllabus) which does not require graduate school but is longer and likely not applicable to you.  With that said, you don't need a M.arch to get a job but I don't know how much you can offer an office with only a fashion design undergrad background.