Archinect
anchor

Part 1 Architectural Assistant - Advice?

bsproperty

Hi all, 

I have been lurking in this community for some time now and you have been an invaluable source of knowledge. 

I was hoping you could all offer me some advice. 

I graduated with a part 1 BA degree in Architecture in 2018, from a top university with a first-class.

I then worked in practice for one year, 2018 - 2019, then, due to unforeseen circumstances, I had to return home and be a primary caregiver. This also shocked me and I began dealing with my own mental health issues.

As I remained home, I began doing menial jobs to pay the bills, like customer service, as well as doing some property sales - all from home. So essentially from 2019 to 2021 there is a gap unrelated to architecture.

Now, however, I would like to return to architecture-related employment or really just pursue a career again, I am a bit saddened as I am now 25, only completed my part 1, and have a long way to go to become a fully qualified architect.  I will have to fund my Masters and final exam largely myself. But right now, I would like to focus on the first step, which is getting back into employment. 

My question is:

How would I explain the 2 year job gap if they ask? 

Also, I am considering doing another design-related career such as UX, as pursuing architecture now would be both time and money-intensive.

Any words of advice?

Jun 1, 21 10:31 am
Almosthip

Just be honest, employers understand that life happens.

Jun 1, 21 11:42 am  · 
 · 
bsproperty

Thank you, yep - I guess I was just catastrophizing it in my mind. Would you recommend putting it in the cover letter?

Jun 2, 21 7:18 am  · 
 · 
msparchitect

Just tell them you had to provide care for someone else for a period of time. If they don't understand that, you probably don't want to work for them to begin with. 

Jun 1, 21 11:55 am  · 
1  ·