Archinect
anchor

Internships in Toronto/Canada

ArchiToronto

I'm a first-year MArch student at GSAPP. Because I've been studying remotely from Canada I'm unable to work in the US this summer. I'd assumed this wouldn't be a huge deal; after all, surely there are internships in Canada! Toronto is a big city, I'll be able to find something...

But then I started looking. Nothing. Not even a mention of summer internships on most firms' websites. I've sent my resume around, and haven't heard a peep. Is this a Canadian thing, or just a pandemic thing? I have reason to think that it's not merely a case of being unqualified (despite not having an architectural background, I was able to snag a spot in a well-known New York firm's internship program before realizing the visa situation wouldn't work out).

What gives? Are others having a similar experience?

May 13, 21 1:08 pm
lower.case.yao

Seems a bit late to search for internships now?

May 13, 21 1:20 pm  · 
 · 
ArchiToronto

I've been searching since February, and sending out my resume since the beginning of March. I have yet to hear back from a single firm. On the other hand, internship opportunities in the US are still being sent around by the careers office. It seems strange to me that things would work so differently here in Canada, but I guess that's just the way it is.

May 13, 21 1:33 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

first thing first, internships are not really a thing in Canada. You’re looking for junior or intro positions but, most temp spots get filled in the early spring / end of winter so offices can plan ahead. You’re probably too late for a 2 or 3 month job. 

But things are very busy. We just hired 2 people this week. Look on the OAA or Raic sites for jobs. 

May 13, 21 1:23 pm  · 
1  · 
ArchiToronto