Archinect
anchor

RISD vs SCI-Arc Masters

yesenia_g

I'm currently considering getting my graduate in Architecture, and am stuck between RISD and SCI-Arc. I studied one year in undergrad Arch before transferring to a cultural studies course and graduating with that, so I have some technical proficiency and understanding of architecture but will not be going in advanced placement.

The decision is particularly difficult in a few ways: first, I got a scholarship to both which amount to roughly the same expenses per year if you take into account rent and living between Providence and LA; second, I don't have much of a preference between the two locations as I love both areas and would ideally work in either LA or NYC after graduation (I figure RISD generally feeds into NYC firms). 

I've talked to a few SCI-Arc students (granted, there is some bias) who have mostly criticized RISD's focus on hand-made work, arguing that it isn't preparing students for how architecture is generated today. I'm worried about this factor as well -- how heavy does RISD rely on hand-drawings or handcrafted models in their architecture curriculum? Does it adequately prepare students for using technology in most workplaces? On the other hand, RISD is likely a bigger name for potential employers and may help me in getting jobs with more prestigious firms despite this. Finally, having a background in cultural studies and academic writing, I'm also curious as to the amount of importance each course puts on conceptual/theoretical framework behind projects and supports their students in that way.

If there's anyone who has graduated from the Masters programs to either of these schools and could take some time to enlighten me more on the curriculum and its advantages, that would be much appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Mar 22, 21 12:29 pm
square.