Archinect
anchor

Any urban designers here?

Beaver

I have a Master's in urban design (BA in urban planning, but also took courses in architecture) and joined an architecture firm after graduation. When I was hired, they told me they have urban design project and I was content. Only after I started there, I realized they only had this one campus design/planning project, the rest are all architecture projects. And from my 2 year work experience, I really wonder where do urban designers fit in the industry? For small projects, architects do the who package, for bigger projects like a resort etc, architects collaborate with planners, I just really don't see where urban designers can be involved? except maybe the earliest conceptual stage, then SD, DD, CD, CA... has pretty much nothing to do with urban designers. 

My classmates from the urban design program mostly all found jobs in their original field (architecture, LA, urban planning...)Urban designers are so rare, if you are one, how is it like to be an urban designer? Do you work in a very big firm? Government? Are there many opportunities in this field? 

I just searched Urban Designer job posts in the bay area, and the results are 0!!! I start to feel I might need another Master's degree in a more specific field like planning or architecture because I might never find anything in urban design. 

Jan 29, 21 12:45 pm
whistler

An Urban Designer is a catch-22 ... not and architect, not a landscape architect, not a planner ( all professional degrees with associations that regulate their profession ).  I am afraid you don't fit into any of those classifications and therefore you will likely get you "grass mown" by all of them as clients will be looking for specific tasks or scopes of work from all of them.  Your best bet is to apply your skills and experiences into searching public sector jobs in planning departments where some basic design skills can be a real asset.

Jan 29, 21 4:23 pm  · 
 · 
Beaver