Archinect
anchor

Looking for advice - no architecture background but looking to get into the industry

kh21

Hi all, 

Looking for some advice if possible please. I have a BSc and MSc (BSc History/International Relations and MSc Environment, Politics and Society), neither of which are related to architecture or urban design planning. Over the past few years I've become increasingly interested in sustainable architecture and urban planning (living cities/people-first urban planning etc) after doing my MSc dissertation on nature discourses within Scandinavian architecture.

Looking to the future, I'd love to work within the field in some aspects (queue eye rolls haha). Being realistic however, I know I'm not destined to be an architecture or designer (defo don't have the skill yet!!). I also know that right now, I can't really afford another degree...this obviously leaves me in a slightly tricky situation haha

I have a wonderful job currently at an incredible environmental charity. I know though for the future, my heart is set elsewhere and I also know I need to start putting steps into place that'll let me get there.

I guess I'm asking for some advice on roles/jobs within the field that don't require architecture and/or design degrees/training (which sounds somewhat stupid to write but I'm hoping I'm making sense!). I've done research into different positions like sustainability consultants etc. but I imagine those positions would still prioritise people with the right academic background. If the general consensus is I'll need some form of planning degree then that would still be really useful to hear.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

x

Jan 29, 21 12:15 pm

Unfortunately, any type of direct work in any architectural field is going to require some type of training and schooling - yes this includes even drafting.