Archinect
anchor

How many programs should I know how to use.

Hello, I graduated with an undergraduate Bachelor's degree in architecture and I have experience in Rhino, SketchUp, Revit and AutoCAD. 

A lot of colleagues that graduated with me are highly proficient in additional programs such as Grasshopper, Lumion, and ARCHICAD. These programs are out of my comfort zones but is it standard to know these other programs in the industry? 

I also know basic Microsoft Word and Adobe Creative Suite Programs. 

Jan 27, 21 8:50 pm
Non Sequitur

MS Paint is where it's at.

I'd be careful tossing the word "mastered" when describing your software skills.  What works for school is not the same as what works in an office.  Come back and re-evaluate your skills after 5+ years of 40hr weeks in revit.  I guarantee you'll rank yourself much, much lower even though you'll likely have eclipsed your original skill level several times.

Jan 27, 21 8:56 pm  · 
4  ·  1
tduds

Eleven.

Jan 27, 21 9:38 pm  · 
3  · 
Non Sequitur

42 is not a bad number either.

Jan 27, 21 9:54 pm  · 
 · 
tduds

Get real. There aren't that many programs.

Jan 28, 21 12:29 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

sorry, 42 is the number of updates Autodesk warned me off last night. (spoiler, that's not true, it was actually 41... but I'm sure they forgot one)

Jan 28, 21 6:22 am  · 
1  · 
sameolddoctor

I think your list is a good one. I would try and learn Lumion or Enscape for real-time rendering. If you are getting familiar with Revit, I dont think you need archicad. Grasshopper is good to learn as an add on to Rhino.

Yes be careful before using terms like "Mastered" lol.

Jan 27, 21 10:06 pm  · 
3  · 
SneakyPete

ALL OF THEM

Jan 28, 21 1:00 am  · 
1  · 
robertaustin

You've got a good list but I will suggest you go with all of them.

Jan 28, 21 7:33 am  · 
1  · 
thatsthat