Archinect
anchor

Partner up at small firm?

89pol

Hi all -

I'm a licensed architect practicing in my conservative home state. I graduated at the top of my class with a BARCH in 2013 and accepted a job offer from one of my professors when I graduated. He had recently stopped teaching at the school and decided to open his practice full time. At the time, I was engaged to an architect in another country, so always thought the job would be temporary. However, as things go, they fall apart.... and I found myself continuing to work at this firm (to the tune of a $24k salary) out of a sense of obligation and friendship with my boss. I had never worked at a firm before, so didn't have a strong sense of what it was supposed  to be like. The principal preferred a laid-back studio and, to my detriment, didn't embrace mentorship or teaching. I learned most of what I know about construction documents, coordination and sheet organization from a set of drawings I found online. Despite his self-professed lack of leadership ability, he made up for it with a really generous sense of comradery and love of creativity; for instance, he has always been accepting and supportive of me being gay, which is no small thing where we live.

In 2016, after not having any projects for a couple months, I moved to Boston and practiced at a small firm there  - as you could imagine, I learned more in that one year than I learned in the 3 years I had worked at my other job. After a year, one of my parents got really sick and I decided to move back and take care of them. I got my old job back! And with the experience I had acquired, I was able to contribute a lot more to the firm, especially in terms of project management and construction documents.