Archinect
anchor

Why was advertising once considered professionally unethical?

caramelhighrise

I'm studying for my Practice Management ARE and I highly doubt this will be on the test, but I keep reading that it was considered unethical to advertise decades ago. Why was this? If anyone on here has been around long enough to have seen that, I'd be really curious to hear some stories.

Dec 20, 20 3:23 pm
quizzical

The basic concept was that, as professionals, we should compete on the basis of skill and competence ... not on the basis of either price or hype.

Dec 20, 20 3:30 pm  · 
1  · 
citizen

^ Yes. See also: doctors, lawyers.

Dec 20, 20 3:41 pm  · 
 · 
caramelhighrise

Those were examples I've seen elsewhere, but I still have law firms and all sorts of dentists, physicians, and the like spamming me with ads all the time. Though I can't say I've ever seen a commercial for an architecture firm. I get the idea that our work should speak for itself, but couldn't the same be said for nearly any field? I could argue that a restaurant shouldn't have to advertise because their high quality service and food should speak for itself. So I get the reasoning, but I don't understand why it could be considered unethical. Unnecessary? Maybe. But not unethical.

Dec 20, 20 3:48 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

I'm not sure when professional associations' rules changed... back in the '70s or '80s for law, I think. That's when the Jacoby & Meyers tv commercials started here in Calif.

Dec 20, 20 3:54 pm  · 
 · 
atelier nobody