Archinect
anchor

Self taught architect

Archicatman

Say I'm interested in architecture as a hobby, are there any short courses out there? So skipping all the history and complicated theory and just the essential stuff like software and materials and whatever else is necessary. Is it also necessary to have a license to build a building you design?

Dec 10, 20 7:25 pm
Non Sequitur

Architecture is a fine hobby if you're already wealthy.  You can play architect with the professionals you hire. Other than that, it's a serious profession that too many believe is easy because of silly DIY and home decorating shows.  

But nothing is really stopping you from designing more mediocre shit, you just really can't make much out of it besides personal projects.  The license we all have is for services offered to the public and most places will allow homeowners to produce their own plans and whatnot.   Take a few drafting and tech courses in your local college to get the basics of construction and go from there.

Dec 10, 20 7:48 pm  · 
3  · 
randomised

whatever complicated stuff you need to know, you can always come here for advice!

Dec 10, 20 8:21 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

They have already... check the history

Dec 10, 20 9:42 pm  · 
 · 
randomised

I know and the forum has been very helpful all along the journey(!)

Dec 11, 20 2:21 am  · 
 · 
tduds

"skipping all the history and complicated theory "

This is architecture.

"and just the essential stuff like software and materials"

This is drafting and/or construction.

If you're interested in architecture but not being an architect, you want to learn the former but skip the latter. If you want to build stuff without learning "Architecture" you want to learn the latter but skip the former. No shame in either, but it's important to learn enough to know whether or not what you're interested in as a hobby is actually Architecture

Dec 10, 20 9:47 pm  · 
9  · 
apscoradiales

Archicatman,