Archinect
anchor

Searching for Career advices on Architectural Technician

aseedof

I am a freelance designer and worked construction for three years. In the construction industry, I developed the interest of CAD drafting. I am planning to study a Diploma of Architectural Technician.

-Would study in a Diploma of Architectural Technician give me a ticket to be in the Architectural Drafting industry? 

-What are the basic skills that I need to be an Architectural Technician? 

-In the long run, Architectural Technician is a good choice? 

Many Thanks! 

Oct 23, 20 12:17 pm
Non Sequitur

We call this architectural technologist in my area and they are very-much in demand.  Job responsibilities can range but they are mostly production staff (CAD & BIM) with very little design tasks.  Basic skills, outside of software, are at a minimum a good understanding of construction and how to detail buildings for the purpose of construction.

Others in this field will find themselves producing shop drawings for contractors or product suppliers... others might find a gig doing drawings for large residential builders or home-depo kitchen renovations.  I've known some to work at Ikea.

One important thing is, and I've written this elsewhere on the forum before, is that a good tech is worth several junior M.arch grads but these folks are rare.  There is an obvious career ceiling and many become jaded that they are not/cannot/never will be architects.

Oct 23, 20 2:06 pm  · 
3  · 
aseedof

Thanks Non. Would it be possible for an Architectural Technical graduate becomes an Architectural model maker? It’s true that not all people can be an Architect.

Oct 24, 20 10:42 am  · 
 · 
apscoradiales